If you need to place the alarm clock across the room to wake you, you may be one of a growing number of us who aren’t getting sleep and chronically over-tired. See for yourself how your sleep habits stack up!

INSTRUCTIONS
Answer 1-5 for each question, with 1 = always / 5 = never.

1. I need an alarm clock to wake me at the right time.

2. I hit the snooze button at least once or twice.

 3. I need more than one cup of coffee to get me going in the morning.

 4. I easily forget things, including names of people or places.

 5. I eat sugar to feel more energetic.

 6. I feel irritable or impatient.

 7. I have a hard time being creative.

 8. I fantasize about sleeping in.

 9. When I wake up, I’m already looking forward to going to bed that evening.

 10. I take medication to help me sleep.

 11. I fall asleep right after dinner.

 12. I feel drowsy when driving.

 13. On weekends, I sleep 2 hours or more later than my weekday wake-up time.

 14. People tell me that I look tired or have dark circles under my eyes.

 15. I have nightmares or wake up suddenly.

 16. I wake up 2 or more times during the night.

 17. I drool when I sleep.

 18. I get twitches in one eye.

 19. I fall asleep reading a book or studying.

 20. I doze off during quiet movies, lectures, classes or concerts, even ones I enjoy.

SCORING YOUR RESULTS

85 points of higher. You’ve got above average sleep habits! You may occasionally crave more sleep than you get, but you’re doing more right than wrong.

65-70 points. Some simple adjustments in your sleep habits will increase your focus, energy, memory and overall well-being.

50-65 points. You may be suffering from a sleep disorder… or just poor nocturnal habits. Try simple changes to your routine or consult a sleep expert.

Under 50 points. You may be dozing off as you read this! If you can’t get more sleep using the tips in this sleep issue, consult a sleep expert or a medical doctor.

Annual Sleep IssueGet more information about sleep, including tips on how to fall asleep faster, how to create a hotel-inspired bedroom, and much more. Click on the magazine to open.

Click here to receive our free online magazine each month.

